Reviews

What people are saying about The Anchor Hotel




Friendly, clean, great atmosphere - Rating 5/5

Basic but very clean &comfortable rooms - great value;good wifi throughout;extensive menu for meals;lovely ambiance in the pub downstairs;super friendly &helpful staff, situated in lovely little fishing village.

Reviewer:Samantha P | Sun 23rd Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


We are regular visitors to the Anchor Hotel,and find the place and staff very friendly and helpful- Rating 5/5

We both love the place very much,and enjoy staying the night every so often,I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for great service,food is out of this worldsuperb

Reviewer:R | Thu 20th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Good - Rating 5/5

x

Reviewer:Danielle G | Mon 17th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Relaxing and comfortable- Rating 5/5

This was a great place to stay. Right on the water such beautiful views. The food in the restaurant was amazing and the staff were really friendly. We were recommended by one of our fellow Canadian friends and we will definitely recommend to others. Thanks Gary for the wonderful hospitality. Cheers.

Reviewer:Sara M | Sat 8th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Nice family run hotel room was small but very comfortable food was delicious staff are very pleasant can't do enough for will definitely be back

Reviewer:Grant B | Tue 4th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


2nd visit. Fabulous accommodation, food & drink! - Rating 5/5

Love this Inn. Good value dog-friendly accommodation, fresh delicious local seafood &fish dishes &excellent choice of drinks including good beers to wash it all down with. Lovely welcoming staff make this a great weekend retreat.

Reviewer:Sarah E | Mon 3rd Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Cosy cottage - Rating 5/5

Lovely overnight stay in the cosy cottage with great dinner in the pub, will return soon!

Reviewer:Claire W | Sun 8th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

We have a truly delightful stay in one of the cottages at the Anchor Hotel.The Staff are very friendly and helpful as was the Proprietor.The meal we had was delicious and very good value for money.Would certainly recommend.The cottage was clean and had all amenities you need for a night away.The bed was so comfortable that it really was a struggle in the morning to get out of it.However, pleased we did as it was a crisp clear morning and we sat down at the harbour drinking coffee watching the sun rise over the sea and watching the dolphins out at sea.We certainly will be back sometime.

Reviewer:Patricia C | Mon 2nd Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Home from home. - Rating 5/5

This was our third stay at the Anchor hotel. This time we were in the lovely cottage. Always guaranteed a warm welcome, great service and delicious food. Johnshaven is a beautiful place and wonderful for recharging the batteries.

Reviewer:Trevor G | Mon 2nd Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


WORTH A VISIT - Rating 5/5

Whether you are dropping in for lunch or dinner or staying overnight the Anchor hotel is definitely worth a visit.It has a rustic, warm and friendly charm and the food is excellent with all seafood sourced locally.Gary and Jan are friendly and communicativeand do all they can to make your stay the best it can be.The hotel bedrooms are small but adequate for a short stay.The flat across the road is spacious , cosy, comfortable, well equipped ... and only a few steps round the corner to the lovely harbour area.Can highly recommend.

Reviewer:James A | Sun 1st Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Two nights in family room - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely couple of days here. The room was comfortable and clean and the food was outstanding. The owners are lovely and even let us stay in the larger family room for no extra cost so we had extra room for our golden retriever. We had such a lovely time that we decided to stay for an extra day. All this and the price was very reasonable. Cannot recommend the Anchor enough!

Reviewer:Dominic W | Mon 25th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


A great little hotel - Rating 5/5

Food was good staff friendly

Reviewer:John G | Mon 11th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Little gem- Rating 5/5

Was brilliant stay Little cottage views were awesome

Reviewer:Jordan P | Thu 7th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Well worth a visit - Rating 5/5

Stayed overnight here. Hotel located in small fishing village of Johnshaven right by the harbour. The room nicely decorated and cosy. Staff all very helpful and attentive. The star attraction though was the seafood! Caught locally it was as fresh as possible and beautifully cooked. Really good value and well worth a stay.

Reviewer:George H | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Weekend break- Rating 5/5

It was an absolute pleasure to be back in the anchor Hotel as always it was a great break great staff and great food cu again shortly

Reviewer:John R | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


A motley crew - Rating 5/5

A group of six blokes stayed at the Anchor whilst enjoying country pursuits getting up extremely early and arriving back late for breakfast. We have nothing but praise for the service that we recievedand the delicious meals that were served each day by a team of lovely friendly staff. I had arranged the trip and was anxious that my choice of venue would satisfy even the grumpiest and most demanding members of the group I needn’t have worried astonishingly everyone was happy. I have no hesitation in recommending the Anchor without any reservation. We even got to do the pumpkin judging on Halloween ????

Reviewer:Clive L | Sat 2nd Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Accommodation and Dinner- Rating 5/5

I have stayed here many times and the rooms are very comfortable and the food is out of this world, one of my top 3 restaurants especially if you like seafood ,got to be triedand incredible value ????

Reviewer:Peter R | Thu 24th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


PERFECT - Rating 5/5

I totally enjoyed my stay. Very nice Hotel, very good Food, very nice Staff - I come any time again if I am in the area.

Reviewer:Eric von S | Tue 1st Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Totally lovely - Rating 5/5

A little gem in a gem of coastal village. Everything was perfect and we'd love to come back.

Reviewer:Anne de F | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


A warm welcome - Rating 5/5

We (my wife, adult son and I) were welcomed warmly and shown our room/ apartment suite across the road from the Anchor. It was far more than we had expected complete with a kitchenette, a living room and separate bedrooms. We enjoyed the scenery of Johnshaven, the spectacular menu options for evening and breakfast meals and the proximity to some amazing historical sites (Dunnottar Castle). We felt welcomed as though we were family and we would definitely visit again.Doug, Carey and Kevin from Canada.

Reviewer:whistance s | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


BBQ weekend- Rating 5/5

Visiting friends in the area for a Bavarian Beer Festival weekend and was recommended The Anchor Hotel ..On arrival was a bit surprised at how Small the room was but just being a bed a to sleep in didn't put me off ..The staff anddelish food more than made up for it .Had dinner on the first night with friends a breakfast both mornings of rhe 2 night stay ..Worth every penny .Staff can not do enough for you and our pooch Millie also loved the area fantastic walks.Would not hesitate in returning.

Reviewer:Grace G | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Lovely little hotel - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed an overnight stay at the Anchor Hotel on our way to Aberdeen and the Shetland ferry.It was a very pleasant experience - tiny room but very well equipped, excellent tea tray and shortbread. Comfortable bed and good shower facilities. Excellent breakfast and all in all, very good value. The only downside was the noise from neighbouring rooms as the walls are thin. We would certainly return. We didn’t have dinner but the menu looked very good and judging by the breakfast, the quality would be great!The coffee was excellent and the hosts delightful.

Reviewer:Marylyn K | Wed 4th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Lovely place to stay.Delicious Food.Delightful staff. - Rating 5/5

This is a little gem of a place to stay.It is good honest value for money.The food is fresh, really delicious and served with great generosityThe staff are delightful and there is a very warm and welcoming atmosphere.We would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Emma B | Tue 3rd Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Very good surprise. - Rating 5/5

Good relation quality-price.

Reviewer:Ares S | Thu 22nd Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Dave and Rose - Rating 5/5

Great value for money.

Reviewer:David K | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Fantastic!- Rating 5/5

Very kind staff, good food &beers and a nice &clean room with private bathroom.I hope we will come again, thank you!

Reviewer:Barbara N | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Fabulousmeal - Rating 5/5

Birtday celebration for my brother, fabulous meal our server was excellent nothing was too much bother for her even though the restaurant was very busy.We stayed over, rooms were small but clean all that you needed , breakfast very good with a great selection.Will be back

Reviewer:Stuart A | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Hoteland apartment- Rating 5/5

Stay at the apartment,comfortable,cosy,quiet and relaxing.Hotel food excellent for taste and good value.Staff and locals very friendly beautiful views,had our morning coffee sitting down by the harbour which is seconds to get to from the apartment.Can't wait to return .

Reviewer:Heather L | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Beautiful Place - Rating 5/5

We liked the atmosphere of the village and the hotel next to Johnshavens' little habour, the heartful people of the Anchor, the fantastic breakfast! Next time we will stay for more than one night.

Reviewer:Margit R | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent. The personal was very kind, the accommodarion so confortable and very good situated.

Reviewer:Laura Cue N | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


nice little cottage - Rating 5/5

Exactly what we wanted and expected.Coat rack would be useful addition.

Reviewer:christopher c | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Like it used to be - Rating 5/5

Great place, good well cooked food to diet for and smashing people too.

Reviewer:Andrew G | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely Little Gem - Rating 5/5

Stayed here a few nights in May (Sat&Sun) and had a lovely time. All staff so friendly and the family room was perfect for our needs.

Reviewer:Mike W | Tue 21st May 2019 | 10 months ago


An amazing place to stay & eat - Rating 5/5

We would thoroughly recommend a stay here, the staff were friendly &went out their way to help nothing was too much trouble, the food was exceptional breakfast, lunch &evening meal were first class, its a very quiet/peaceful location &it was just what we needed, ohh &I've now got the taster for blood orange gin lol

Reviewer:Vicky S | Wed 15th May 2019 | 10 months ago


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

The friendly and helpful staff the excellent choice of food on the menu. Compliments to the chef for the tasty flavours in every meal. My wife and I have been to many hotels and been on 12 Cruise ships and you would struggle to beat the food at The Harbour Hotel. Great choice of beers. Would highly recommend to everyone.

Reviewer:Alex F | Mon 6th May 2019 | 10 months ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Spent a fantastic weekend in the split level apartnent at The Anchor Hotel. Were blown away with the apartment everything you need for a break away. Didnt expect ot to be a seperate annex to hotel. Returned to Jonhshaven haven spent New Year in a cottage in the village and loved the peacefulness there. Decieded to stay at hotel after having eaten there several times on our January trip food and staff excellent, so welcoming. We were not disappointed food and staff still excellent and attentive. Fantastic value for money will definitly return soon we hope.

Reviewer:Andrena B | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Fantastic few days away from the rat race. - Rating 5/5

I stayed in one of the cottages and it was so peaceful and the location was right on the sea front.Hearing the sound of the sea from the bedroom sent me to sleep.Lovely cottage with everything you need.

Reviewer:Michael L | Sat 27th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Overnight stay was a treat! - Rating 5/5

We could only stay for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.The staff were friendly and helpful and it was so easy to register and vacate the property.The food is excellent and we will definitely return to this hidden gem!

Reviewer:Derek M | Fri 19th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Great Place - Rating 5/5

One night stay in a small but very comfortable room.My only niggle was no place to balance soap in shower !Size of shower room dictated a tiny wash basin, but rinsing ones face when shaving was comic.Would still do it again Super breakfast. Delightful staff.

Reviewer:Brian T | Tue 16th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


dog show wekend - Rating 5/5

Cottage was ace perfectCan we come back again

Reviewer:W | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Very comfortable, warm welcome, extremely friendly staff! - Rating 5/5

We had a couple of nights at this little gem of a hotel en route to Aberdeen. We stayed in the family room - very comfortable and cosy. We also ate in the restaurant, where the menu was very diverse (something for everyone) - and, naturally enough, had some great fish and seafood specials. I wish I'd had more of an appetite to really tuck in, but what we had was lovely. Excellent value for money!

Reviewer:Susan M | Tue 2nd Apr 2019 | 12 months ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Having arrived we were met with a warm welcome we were taken over to the cottage across the road from the hotel, what a beautiful lovely warm cottage, cosy after a hard days fishing, we had a lovely meal in the hotel and a few beers and drams followed, we could not have asked for more definitely back next year

Reviewer:Greig Donaldson| Wed 27th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Gem of a place - Rating 5/5

This our 3rd visit to this wonderful little gem of a hotel.In our opinion the split level apartment is excellent.You are guaranteed a very friendly welcome from Gary and his staff and to top it of the food is excellent.Johnshaven is a lovely wee viillage and walks along the rock rugged coastline just asd to the experience.Higjhy recommended

Reviewer:Clark B | Tue 26th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Gem of a place - Rating 5/5

This our 3rd visit to this wonderful little gem of a hotel.In our opinion the split level apartment is excellent.You are guaranteed a very friendly welcome from Gary and his staff and to top it of the food is excellent.Johnshaven is a lovely wee viillage and walks along the rocky rugged coastline just asd to the experience.Highly recommended

Reviewer:Clark B | Tue 26th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


A wee jem - Rating 5/5

Coudnt be happier with the cottage we booked gad lunch and breakfastcoudnt fault anything .ps i did like the one pound 9 p charge for cottage

Reviewer:James b | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Comfortable overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay in the Anchor cottage. It was clean, comfortable and cosy. The staff were very helpful, we had dinner and breakfast, both well presented and tasty. We would highlyrecommend the Anchor.

Reviewer:Patricia K | Tue 15th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Birthday treat..... - Rating 4/5

Eaten in this hotel twice over the years and found it excellent, hence a return for an overnight birthday treat. Food and service 1st class, room on the small side but more than adequate and clean.We chose to eat in the bar where it was warm and cosy, with a good atmosphere. Johnshaven is a lovely seaside village to wander round with some great signposting! The whole experience was good value for money.

Reviewer:Cerise B | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Great apartment near the harbour - Rating 5/5

Visiting Johnshaven for one night, the Anchor apartment was a perfect choice. It was warm, cosy, comfortable and fully equipped.The staff were very welcoming.The Anchor is renowned locally for its delicious food and it lived up to its reputation.A hearty bowl of the famous Cullen Skink followed by glorious helpings of Cranachan were a real treat.Breakfast kept us going for the whole day!

Reviewer:dorothy b | Sun 6th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Stayed on 30/12/2018 - Rating 5/5

Food ,staff and acomadation were excellent

Reviewer:Anthony G | Wed 2nd Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Happy guests - Rating 4/5

We stayed in a cottage belonging to the hotel which was clean, comfortable and cosy. Because we were self catering we could have done with slightly more in the way of utensils but anything we asked for was given. The fridge broke down so we lost quite a bit of food, but a voucher from the hotel covered most of the cost of a meal for three. Would we come back? Most definitely.

Reviewer:Joan W | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


friendly and confortable - Rating 4/5

It's great to see thriving hotels/restaurants in large villages such as Johnshaven, which is a really attractive place. Hotel has friendly staff, a good restaurant, a comfortable well priced room with good shower. A small downside is the slight smell of old cooking oil... not sure if this is due to the location of the kitchen... but all in all a good place to stay

Reviewer:Alec E | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Anchor Hotel- Rating 5/5

Hotel is very friendly,cannot fault the place,staff are all so so helpful,the food is outstanding, rooms are cosy and comfortable, we go here 3/4 times a year,very relaxing,and prices very reasonable.

Reviewer:R | Sun 23rd Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Hidden gem! - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we were there for longer. Fabulous food and great hospitality. Thank you Gary!

Reviewer:Kylie L | Fri 16th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent for a stopover - Rating 5/5

Excellent location in a small village by the sea. Simple but clean accomodation. Good service and food.

Reviewer:Robert H | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


brian and lynne.. - Rating 5/5

bed was comfy,food was good,and we enjoyed our stay...

Reviewer:Brian G | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Quaint clean and comfortable- Rating 4/5

This no frills accommodation ticked all the boxes for a 1 night stay. A small en suite room with a bed tea and coffee making facilities and a small television was all I needed for my stay no cupboards for putting away my clothes but then I was only staying 1 night. The high point is the staff the bar/restaurant and the foodwhich was the best. I had Cullen skink and Cod Mornay which was as good as I’ve ever tasted, the bar was very well stocked with beers lager wine and spirits and the breakfast choice and full Scottish was filling for the rest of the day with very tasty local food. At £58for Band B it doesn’t stretch the pocket either. If I’m in the area I will be back.

Reviewer:David Y | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Top hotel - Rating 4/5

Mooi hotel. Klein maar mooi en schone kamer.Hotel ligt letterlijk naast de zee, heerlijk om te wandelen.Eten in het hotel is lekker en de bediening id top

Reviewer:Monica N | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Johnshaven - Rating 5/5

Lovely peaceful spot great bar and superb food especially sea food

Reviewer:June M | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Break - Rating 4/5

On arrival I was horrified when climbing the stairs to our room the carpet was filthy and worn, I room was small but spotlessly clean. Staff were all very friendly. The food was amazing, delicious, would advise anyone to go there for a meal.

Reviewer:M | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Another great stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night with mum (88 years young) and had another great stay.This time we had the one bedroom apartment and a room in the hotel.The apartment was lovely and mum was very comfortable there, especially with the big bed and the wet room.Our room in the hotel was quite small but more than adequate for one night. Dinner was lovely and the service was great.Big thank you to all at The Anchor.

Reviewer:Karen H | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Un bel posto dove pernottare - Rating 5/5

Camera familiare molto pulita e accogliente.Personale molto gentile.

Reviewer:luciano f | Tue 14th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Un bel posto dove pernottare - Rating 5/5

Camere e bagno molto puliti. Personale molto gentile e sorridente.Cucina eccellente.Lo consiglio vivamente.

Reviewer:luciano f | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely place and staff - Rating 5/5

Stayed in apartment opposite the pub. Great space very well kitted out. Had breakfast each morning in the restaurant which was cooked to order and very tasty.

Reviewer:Zoe S | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Welcoming,friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely laid back hotel thst made me and my dog vey welcome. Room comfortable and food was amazing. All in a lovely harbour setting. Highly recommend a wee stay here.

Reviewer:Martin R | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Genial estancia - Rating 5/5

Estuvimos solo una noche, pero lo disfrutamos. Relación calidad precio inmejorable, el personal muy amable y la comida genial

Reviewer:Carlos Garcia de M | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely apartment - Rating 5/5

Lovely spacious apartment just across from the Anchor Hotel.Harbour and seafront a minute away.Only problem we had was the storage heaters where on when we got there and it was far too warm. Took a day to cool down after switching off - other than that no problems.

Reviewer:Pamela H | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Sean - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at the anchor twice now and each time has been brilliant the staff give a nice welcome the room are great and the food to me is fantastic I will definitely be booking the anchor hotel again

Reviewer:SeanWilkinson’s| Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay at Anchor - Rating 5/5

Great Stay. Everything was superb. Will be back.

Reviewer:John C | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Good - Rating 5/5

Good place,friendly staff.

Reviewer:Tamas F | Fri 18th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Very relaxing stay & excellent food- Rating 5/5

Our third stay at the Anchor Hotel as we love it there, we stayed in the little fisherman's cottage across the road, which was perfect for my elderly Mum. The beds are so comfy, the view of the harbour with the waves rolling in was fantastic! We stayed four days, ate in the hotel every night, the food is delicious and staff are perfect, made us so welcome. Such a friendly village atmosphere too with a little shop next doorwhich sells everything you could need. We will be back that is certain.

Reviewer:Alison M | Sat 24th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Self Catering
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian